My Review on the War of Reaving (Some spoilers)

Pages: 1
Karagin
08/19/11 03:27 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
Okay the new sourcebook War of Reaving is indeed an interesting read. Starts off well and gives a nice look at the Home World Clans. The follow of the writing reads well and goes into a lot of detail.

As with any source book there are limits to what can be put into them, so this book is not an end all to the events, it is a good guide to the events. The art work, again this always subjective, well wasn't what I expected. Call me old school or what ever, but I would rather see hand drawn (or even computer drawn) art work versus photo-art of miniatures. To me that takes away from the overall quality of the product. A few color pages of the events shown via a miniature set up at say GenCon would have been better.

A couple of story plot points leave me shake my head. First up is the genetic viruses. I am no expert, but I doubt very much if even the Clans genetic wizards can make a tailored genetic viruses that targets a single genome type for a certain blood line. Human DNA is very complex and given that it takes mutation centuries to take hold and be productive a tailored viruses is not likely to be as effect as TPTB claim. Your mileage may indeed vary and some may find the whole thing cool and easily excepted.