Dark Age Mechs VS Classic Mechs

Pages: 1
Atlan
02/19/09 12:04 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
Now, it's obvious at a glance that most people here much, MUCH prefer Classic Battletech over the new Mechwarrior: Dark Age, both in game design and backstory. So I'd like to make it clear I'm not talking about which is better.

What I'm wondering about is the new Mech designs. Mechs like the Jade Falcon Gyrfalcon, Shrike and Eyrie. The new starter mechs- the Mangonel and the Jade Hawk. How do they, as mechs, compare to clasic mechs of the same weight class?

(I know that the Dark Age mechs have a totaly different system of playing, but the wiki here has information on several DA mechs on the wiki here)
Lefric
02/19/09 09:01 AM

I will preface this by saying that I have no experience with Mechwarrior:DA, so I will say only one thing: The Pheonix mechs, for example, are classics for a reason: There weapons mixes are very hard to improve on.

Take the Warhammer and the Archer, for example. Even in a universe of 3070+, with all the new toys anc mechs, the 3025 ARC 2-R is still a decent mech. Add in case and artemis, and the 3050 ARC-4M is still one of the best mechs in the game, IMO. Good damage at long range, nearly maxed armor, and CASE to protect your mechwarrior from those annoying ammo explosions.It's pretty hard to get a better mech than that.

The Warhammer, OTOH, has issues (mainly lack of armor in the pre-pheonix versions), but that dual PPC / SRM6/ 2 ML combo is tough to beat as a direct fire platform, period, and that's why so many "new" mechs try to emulate that weapons mix. And it looks so bloody cool...

So, w/o knowing how the DA mechs work, I dare say that they are no better (or worse, for that matter)than older designs - just different.

Just my .2 C-bills worth.
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence upon those who would do us harm." -George Orwell
Kovax
02/19/09 09:59 AM