Unfair Matchup

Pages: 1
Tripod
07/13/09 03:28 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
I met 2 guys for the first time this week at a local gaming store(Hobby Town USA) and found out they had never played but were interested in Battletech. I offered to meet them the next day with my stuff so I could show them the ropes. Both of them had quite a bit of experiance with Warhammer type games and Nercomunda(sp) so they were not total noobs to gaming. One of the guys had even bought quite a few books, read the rules and mostly understood them, just had trouble linking the sequence of play and heat and all that...

Anyways...

The first battle I set up was very one sided in their favor. I took a 3025 LCT-V1 Locust and let them each pick any 3025 light mech. One took a Spider and the other a Panther, both of them vs me on one standard battletech map. That poor Panther....didn't get a single point of dammage in on me but I could not shake the Spider. I realized at one point that they were noob to average pilots, with "average" 4/4 pilots in their mechs while I, compared to them, was a veteran pilot, also with a 4/4 pilot in the mech. So, I decided to start piloting like an average pilot. It was that or we were going to be there for hours running ducking and hiding from each other. Eventually, victory for the noobies...

For the next battle I picked the mechs, 2 per side and let them decide what pair to take.

Now, before you read on and see what mechs they were decide for yourself what you, at your current skill level and game knowldege level would pick, and what you as a newbie would have decided. Different? or the same?

I made the offer to them, you can take 2 heavy mechs or 1 assault and 1 medium...

(I had the record sheets handy so thats what we used)