Your First BatteTech Battle

Pages: 1
rider
02/17/11 01:56 PM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
I'm starting this forum to ask players to describe their first tabletop BattleTech battle.
How many players were involved?
What 'mechs did players choose?
What was the outcome?
Any interesting highlights of the battle or other anecdotes?

For my own part I started playing the game a couple years after it was introduced. Got the first box set with the iconic Warhammer on the box top. I chose an ARC-2R Archer and my brother chose the CRD-3R Crusader. My brother and I used cardboard cutout 'mechs, so I think we made our choices more due to how cool the pictures looked rather than any rational decisions on armor or firepower.
My recollections of the battle are vague, but I think we both chose to close in on each other and turn the battle into a melee. The Crusader should have the advantage in that case, but I convinced my brother that the antenna coming from the back of the head were the medium lasers that fired in the rear arc and that they could flip 180 degrees to shoot toward the front. In my defense, some of the early drawings I saw including the cover of CITYTECH, the green and red Robotech picture of the Archer, and even the cardboard cutout led me to believe they were weapons. This evened the match pretty well during a close-in fight. In the end I believe we were adjacent to each other, both of us with one or both legs destroyed still shooting whatever was left of our armament. I think during the final round one of us died with a head shot, the other with a destroyed center torso, but I couldn't swear as to which of us "died".