The Dark Age

Pages: 1
XCarbornBladesX
05/01/15 11:52 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
Hey, i am new to the BattleTech universe and would like a explanation of the Dark Age. I looked it up on the wiki, but it didnt have enough detail. Also what type of mechs where used at the time.

Edited by XCarbornBladesX (05/01/15 03:32 PM)
CrayModerator
05/02/15 09:44 AM

Quote:
XCarbornBladesX writes:

Hey, i am new to the BattleTech universe and would like a explanation of the Dark Age. I looked it up on the wiki, but it didnt have enough detail. Also what type of mechs where used at the time.

The 'Mechs used were "all of them." They leaned toward more advanced than the those of 31st Century, using more of the advanced gear found in experimental designs in the 3070s. There is a published, "Record Sheets: MechWarrior Dark Ages" with example designs.

The Dark Age is an overly dramatic name. A short historical overview:

1) Following Word of Blake Jihad, 3067-3083, a hero of the Jihad proposes taking the most-ravaged core planets of the Inner Sphere to form a new nation. This is accepted to varying degrees; the Capellans were fighting the idea decades later. However, it results in the "Republic of the Sphere" based on Terra and a group of worlds near it.

2) The Inner Sphere goes on. For the 50-year period from the 3080s to the 3130s, the Inner Sphere recovers, prospers, and has multiple wars (like it always does).

3) For reasons unknown, c3130, all the HPGs in the Inner Sphere shut down and the network is slow to recover. The fractured and ethnically segregated groups in the Republic of the Sphere think this is a great time to seek independence; join their original parent House; or take over the Republic; or all the above. Gradually, the various Houses and Inner Sphere Clans agree and attempt to take over chunks of the Republic.