Off subject from D8 battletech

Pages: 1
His_Most_Royal_Highass_Donkey
07/20/15 10:28 PM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
Quote:
ghostrider writes:

Overheating semi's going up a grade lose power

As a semi truck driver I am quite qualified to respond to this.

Engine heat has zero to so with why semis slow down going up a grade. Trucks are geared for raw pulling power and not speed. You might not notice but fully loaded semis slow down even on the slightest grade because they are pulling up to 80,000 pounds and on rare occasions over the legal limit of 80,000 pounds with a permit.

Trucks are designed to be able to operate in any weather conditions including going up steep grades in very high temperatures with no ill affect. They have cooling systems that are not used in every day operations but for times when the truck really needs them. I can drive my truck in conditions that would cause your car to over heat and crack the head and my truck would just turn on its extra cooling system and keep chugging up the hill.
Why argue if the glass is half full or half empty, when you know someone is going to knock it over and spill it anyways.

I was a Major *pain* before
But I got a promotion.
I am now a General *pain*
Yay for promotions!!!
ghostrider
07/20/15 10:40 PM

Ok, so that is different from a few other drivers that have stated they lose power when overheating. I know moving trucks as well as busses lose power when overheating going up hills in the summer that they have no issues with in the winter.

Might have been poor maintainence from the company they worked at.
KamikazeJohnson
07/21/15 12:54 AM