About Custom 'mechs

Pages: 1
l0rDn0o8sKiLlZ
08/04/16 02:45 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
So, I'm new to BattleTech and had a question before splurging on the books/miniatures/etc.

In the BattleTech Universe, could one creating a fully unique 'Mech?

Not a new chassis or "kind" of 'Mech, mind you, but more of a "personalized" variant.

I'm aware to some point that this might be prohibitive to the point of impossible from a resource/capital standpoint, but I was wondering just the same.

To clarify;

Example A: I'm a Special Unit of "Military X" and have been issued a special variant of the Flea called the "Sand Mite" which utilizes technology that would be considered prohibitive by normal military standards. Using the best weapons/tech available I'm outfitted with a Medium X-Pulse Laser and Light MG with an additional coolant pod for extra hot operations. In-Universe, provided this fits w/ the Tech available in the Ruleset I'm playing, could or would this be one?

Also how would such things be "graded" as "broken" or "unbroken"? Are some weapons simply impossible to mount in some cases?

Example B: In keeping with the question in the above example, if I was a really famous pirate, or there was such an NPC who used a special built Thanatos 'Mech mounting a captured ClanTech LBX-10 AutoCannon in the Side Torso, a Flamer in the other Side Torso, and using a standard IS AC/5 with a captured ClanTech ER Pulse Laser Large, and had the missile arm refitted into a shield arm ala Centurion; could that be done?

And how would you class it as "broken" or "unbroken" etc?