Using Wizkids miniatures for Battletech? Is it ok?

Pages: 1
Stormcrow135
02/17/08 04:54 PM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
Hi there,

I just joined this post, and i am just getting into battletech with my friend. I bought the 3 new core rulebooks, (starter set, total warfare, and the tech manual), and am planning on expanding my collection past those of the starter set.

I wanted to know if any of you guys would tell me if it would be ok if i bought and used some of the mechwarrior:dark Age figs (from wizkids) or the new Mechwarrior set (can't remember the name), if they are the same size of the metals, and compatible. I would of course strip them of there paint and repaint them, and rebase them on hexagonal bases.

I have not seen anyone on the internet(classic battletech players) saying that they do this. Although i am an avid wargammer, painter of miniatures, and i love pewter miniatures, but i can't really spend too much money on this new hobby.

Are alot of the miniatures from wizkids the same models(battlemechs, infantry, vehicles) as the iron wind miniatures, or at least close enough in size and dimensions to use after re basing and repainting?

I'm a newbie to this, so please don't bash me, i'm just trying to figure out what will be cost effective and possible to play a game that looks both tactically intelligent and very creative.

Thanks,
~Jared
Christopher_Perkins
02/18/08 02:31 AM

it is perfectly acceptable to use the Mechwarrior Dark Age Mineratures to play battletech...

In fact, many players use the infantry figures to play battletech when it is something that we have battletech stats for that have not yet made it to IWM.

the hardest things to get around are the size of the minerature vs the size of the hex...