mini collection costs

Pages: 1
JStallion
02/01/04 11:55 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
how much have u guys spent on your collections? i dont know whether to get into the board game or not because i dont know anyone around me who plays and because of their cost(can always sell them on ebay if i dont find anything to do with them). so just wondering how much u guys would say uve spent so far
MadJackal
09/20/04 03:03 PM

Well, generally, no BattleMech miniature ever cost me more than about $10. I bought them at a local hobby shop. While I know some people who own literally hundreds of minis of all types (BattleMechs, vehicles, aircraft, infantry, etc.), I personally never bought that many. I have about thirty 'Mechs, thirty Elementals, some ProtoMechs, and some vehicles. Most of the local tournaments that I played in never allowed large numbers of 'Mechs for each person, and since I'm a student short on money, that meant that I should simply choose a few 'Mechs that I really liked and focus on using them in battle. Also, when I played with my friends, we never used more than a trinary each because the huge battles take a long time to complete. So, while others probably have spent more on their collections, I have probably spent around $300 on it total, spread out over several years.
Of course, you can't really put a cap on your mini budget, because they are very fun to build and paint, and you will want to get more so that you can continue what will become an entertaining hobby. Using your miniatures in games is only half the fun. Modeling them is the other half. You'll take pride in your minis and it will enhance the game experience as you watch your newly painted minis smash your opponent's forces.
I've kind of rambled, but I hope that I've been able to help!
"Invincibility lies in the defense; the possibility of victory in the attack." -Sun-Tzu
Cypher41
10/28/04 07:29 AM

Over $4000 thanks to a large number of EBay purchases
villagereaver
03/11/05 04:06 AM