What to do?

Pages: 1
Melock
02/12/03 12:28 PM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
I've played D&D/Mage the Ascension/Vampire the masquerade/Magic

But i'm fairly new to the Battletech world here. What is the most up-to-date things out there? I dont want to get a start off on somethign that happened 30 years ago =)
Why have huge mechs with tons of armor? When you can have multiple small and fast mechs instead!
zensunni
02/12/03 03:07 PM

Welcome!

You have a few options, depending on where your interests lie.

If you like miniature wargaming, you've got two options: 1) Classic BattleTech and 2) MechWarrior: Dark Ages. The latter is produced by Wizkids, and is similar to their Mage Knight and HeroClix games. The former is the original BattleTech system that was produced by FASA, is now owned by Wizkids, but I believe in print through FanPro LLC. Classic BattleTech is more involved (very detailed record sheets and rules system, on the line of Star Fleet Battles if you're familiar with that) than MW:DA, but I'd argue much more rewarding to play.

If you're instead interested in role-playing in the BattleTech universe, the 3rd ed MechWarrior rpg book is also in print through FanPro. And in case you're a D20 fan, I'm in the process of working up my own house rules for converting it to Traveller20. I'll be posting a link to it once I'm done with the draft.

Jarrad
Nightward
02/12/03 06:06 PM