Talk:PPC Capacitor

This article is within the scope of the Technology WikiProject, a collaborative effort to improve BattleTechWiki's coverage of BattleTech technology and equipment. If you would like to participate, you can visit the project page, where you can join the project and see a list of open tasks.

This article has been flagged for review by the Project: Technology team. If you have reviewed this article, please remove the tr parameter from this template.

First go[edit]

I just added references and such. I'm hoping to improve it further later. ClanWolverine101 00:25, 23 April 2010 (UTC)

Added some references and battle values to the infobox. Because the PPC Capacitor has a variable BV based on PPC type, I thought the best thing to do was put the BV's in place as a list.--Mbear 17:42, 26 April 2010 (UTC)

Light PPC's[edit]

Does the capacitor mounted alongside a LightPPC also generate 5 extra points of damage? (thinking of the XTRO:Mercs version of the Shrek) RagTag 13:33, 27 April 2010 (UTC)

I don't have XTRO Mercs, but as for everything I've seen : Signs point to yes.
Scary thought : A Capacitor on CLAN ER PPCs. *evil grin* ClanWolverine101 13:37, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
In that case, a CooloantPod could come in handy.... and a heap of hardened armour if you're on the wrong end! But in case of the LightPPC, you practically get a standard PPC 3 tons lighter with only a little micromanage, thats what I would call a fair deal...!

RagTag 13:49, 27 April 2010 (UTC)

Using MaximumTech rules, the light PPC would only get +2.5 points of damage. TacOps, however, clearly states that it adds 5 points regardless of the PPC. One of the many joys that the Draconis Combine brought us! Onisuzume 14:43, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
And the other joys? Missiles that don't hit anything but a mountain and an Atlas-version that fries its pilot alive? ; )RagTag 14:48, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
FYI : It also reappears in the Starterbook : Wolf and Blake. There its certainly indicated the Light PPC gets the full benefit. I would submit that book is the most recent rules publication for it. ClanWolverine101 16:32, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
TacOps says every PPC gets the +5 damage benefit. This excludes the Naval PPC's though.--Mbear 18:24, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
... Naval PPCs scoff at your +5! :P ClanWolverine101 18:29, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
The capacitor takes a turn to charge instead of firing, so your "lighter" PPC can only fire every other turn and still builds heat even when it's not firing. The capacitor is IS tech and basically does what a Clan ER PPC does, just less efficiently, so I would assume the technology would be incompatible. Might actually be a good question for TPTB. --Scaletail 00:14, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Not quite. The PPC can fire every turn. It simply needs to hold its fire a round to build its +5 charge. That's actually practical with many designs, where it doesn't make sense to fire every weapon every round. But yes, its less efficient than the Clan ER PPC. ClanWolverine101 00:31, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Incorrect: "Instead of firing a PPC as normal, the pilot may choose to charge the PPC Capacitor". -TO, p. 337 --Scaletail 01:01, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
I would understand the rule as follows: You can either fire your lPPC as normal: 5pts damage, 5pts heat. You can charge your capacitor: 5 pts heat, no damage. With a charged capacitor you can release the energy: 5 points of heat, 10pts damage. Or you can hold your fire: 5 pts of heat, no damage. RagTag 10:11, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
I read it as: To charge the PPC capacitor, the MechWarrior "fires" the PPC into the capacitor. So your 'Mech builds up the heat from the Light PPC, and the Capacitor is now charged. Later, the Capacitor can release the stored energy into a fired PPC shot. I don't know if holding the Capacitor's charge increases the 'Mechs heat however.--Mbear 11:38, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
I think holding it does build up heat, releasing it doesn't...RagTag 12:00, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Taking a turn to charge it generates heat, holding the charge generates heat, releasing the charge generates heat. TacOps subsequently gives an example where a 'Mech charges the capacitor in turn 1, and releases it in turn 4 with an ERPPC (IS), with that generating 20 heat. Onisuzume 14:18, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Crap... you get billed for the heat on the turn you release?? That kinda sucks. ClanWolverine101 16:14, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Hm, that would basically mean, even with DHS that thing is an inefficient piece of space-consuming junk...RagTag 16:20, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Well, what else would you expect of experimental IS tech? I've noticed that just about every piece of prototype energy weapon (dunno about the klondike ones though) generates 50% more heat than the non-prototype version. Another good example would be X-Pulse Lasers, hot as hell. Onisuzume 16:42, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
True. Look at all the Manei Domini Celestial Omnimechs. These are not efficient mech designs - they are test-beds for all the newest tech around. ClanWolverine101 17:39, 28 April 2010 (UTC)

Possible Picture[edit]

Does anyone know if the image here would work? Or is that not even what it looks like? -BobTheZombie (talk) 18:02, 29 January 2014 (PST)

That looks like an image captured from the pdf of one of the rulebooks - I've seen that colour inversion happen before. I'll try and take a look tonight and see if I can find a picture in one of the books. BrokenMnemonic (talk) 00:34, 30 January 2014 (PST)
I'm going ahead with uploading it; it can be corrected if it is wrong. -BobTheZombie (talk) 23:36, 30 July 2014 (PDT)
I've been doing some digging around, because I can't find the image in any of my sourcebooks, but it looks very much like the work of a BattleTech artist and matches the style of the component pictures in various sourcebooks. However, I think I may have found where the image is likely to come from - I think there are cards or upgrades of some sort that were produced for the MechWarrior Clix game that included systems like the Anti-Missile system and the like. I've not been able to find a comprehensive guide, but MechWarrior: Annihilation seems to be the source for most - although it could be that the pictures are from some sort of rulebook or flier associated with the game instead. Either way, if you can find someone who knows about the MechWarrior Clix games, they may be able to help. I never played, so I can't really help any further. BrokenMnemonic (talk) 05:52, 24 August 2014 (PDT)
Okay, I guess if I would have actually looked at the heading of the site I could have figured that out, so thank you. I'll ask around and see if we can resolve this. -BobTheZombie (talk) 08:43, 24 August 2014 (PDT)