Novice question about Mech

Pages: 1
arvigna
11/16/20 08:26 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply

Hello,

I'm new in this universe, my question would be, when a Mech is modified, is it possible that it exceeds its original maximum tonnage?
thank you
Arvi.
Karagin
11/16/20 10:26 AM

It can if you are building it from the ground up as a new mech. If you want to keep say a Thunderbolt and swap around weapons then no it has to remain at it's 65 ton weight limit. Howerver, if you want a mech that is a 70 ton machine that has similar weapons as the Thunderblot but more armor, then you would need to be build a whole new mech at the 70 ton weight class.
Karagin

Given time and plenty of paper, a philosopher can prove anything.
FrabbyModerator
11/16/20 10:50 AM

The basic answer to the question is no.

You cannot modify a 'Mech to exceed its tonnage.
By the game's construction rules, the very first thing you determine about a 'Mech is the (max) tonnage; this in turn then determines the weight (mass) of the internal structure and through that, how much armor each section of a 'Mech can carry, as well as the increments required for the fusion engine. And how much damage you're doing in physical attacks, or incur when falling.

There is a canonical example in the other direction, where a variant of the Stalker was built and statted as a downgraded 75 ton 'Mech (instead of the Stalker's original 85 tons). Later rules allowed for 'Mechs to be built underweight, i.e. you could equip a 85-ton Stalker frame with just 75 tons of equipment. It would retain an 85-tonner's internal structure, engine, and "mass" for purpose of gameplay, just lack 10 tons of equipment.
arvigna
11/16/20 11:07 AM

Thank you very much for such quick answers.

so if I understand correctly, this is not possible, so if I decide to make a new variant of a model the tonnage must remain the same in its original maximum.