Lb-X Autocannons vs Aerospace fighters

Pages: 1
Primus203
02/15/24 04:31 AM

Edit Reply Quote Quick Reply
I just started mekhq and am designing my own units after lots of looking around I'm sold on the lb-x against aircraft my question is simple is the greater range of the lb-x 5 or 2 worth the lower damage output when used against aircraft.

Also slightly off this topic my second main weapon against aircraft is the er medium laser is this a bad choice thank you for any answers I'm new to BattleTech.
ghostrider
02/15/24 12:15 PM

The lb5x and lb2x can be useful, depending on your outlook.
Any damage can be helpful, but in atmosphere, every hit on a fighter could be deadly. Air control surfaces that are hit, can potentially cause a crash. So just like looking for the thru armor crits on a mech, aerofighters have this issue when flying.

If following the rules set out by BT, any weapon with a range above 4 works against aircraft.
Pulse weapons maybe better, as the extra bonus of 2 to hit comes into effect well here. If you are not within a strafe or bombing target, it is difficult to hit the craft. This is not saying this suggestion is the best. Again. Any damage is potentially good against a foe. The ERML is actually a great weapon against ground targets, so if they are used against both, then that would be a good choice. The ground range makes them better in that case.

Now mekhq isn't something I know of, so the rules may be different then Battetech.

Hope this helps.
Ridest
03/05/24 07:52 AM

Post deleted by Cray

Edited by Ridest (03/07/24 04:51 AM)
ghostrider
03/06/24 12:00 PM

The pulse medium lasers are good for the extra 'to hit' bonuses. Depending on the era of the games timeline, the IS version has the issue of being short ranged.