Difference between revisions of "Talk:PPC Capacitor"

(wrong)
(Light PPC's)
Line 23: Line 23:
 
:::::::: Not quite. The PPC can fire every turn. It simply needs to hold its fire a round to build its +5 charge. That's actually practical with many designs, where it doesn't make sense to fire every weapon every round. But yes, its less efficient than the Clan ER PPC. [[User:ClanWolverine101|ClanWolverine101]] 00:31, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
 
:::::::: Not quite. The PPC can fire every turn. It simply needs to hold its fire a round to build its +5 charge. That's actually practical with many designs, where it doesn't make sense to fire every weapon every round. But yes, its less efficient than the Clan ER PPC. [[User:ClanWolverine101|ClanWolverine101]] 00:31, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
 
::::::::: Incorrect: "Instead of firing a PPC as normal, the pilot may choose to charge the PPC Capacitor". -TO, p. 337 --[[User:Scaletail|Scaletail]] 01:01, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
 
::::::::: Incorrect: "Instead of firing a PPC as normal, the pilot may choose to charge the PPC Capacitor". -TO, p. 337 --[[User:Scaletail|Scaletail]] 01:01, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
 +
 +
:I would understand the rule as follows: You can either fire your lPPC as normal: 5pts damage, 5pts heat. You can charge your capacitor: 5 pts heat, no damage. With a charged capacitor you can release the energy: 5 points of heat, 10pts damage. Or you can hold your fire: 5 pts of heat, no damage. [[User:RagTag|RagTag]] 10:11, 28 April 2010 (UTC)

Revision as of 06:11, 28 April 2010

First go

I just added references and such. I'm hoping to improve it further later. ClanWolverine101 00:25, 23 April 2010 (UTC)

Added some references and battle values to the infobox. Because the PPC Capacitor has a variable BV based on PPC type, I thought the best thing to do was put the BV's in place as a list.--Mbear 17:42, 26 April 2010 (UTC)

Light PPC's

Does the capacitor mounted alongside a LightPPC also generate 5 extra points of damage? (thinking of the XTRO:Mercs version of the Shrek) RagTag 13:33, 27 April 2010 (UTC)

I don't have XTRO Mercs, but as for everything I've seen : Signs point to yes.
Scary thought : A Capacitor on CLAN ER PPCs. *evil grin* ClanWolverine101 13:37, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
In that case, a CooloantPod could come in handy.... and a heap of hardened armour if you're on the wrong end! But in case of the LightPPC, you practically get a standard PPC 3 tons lighter with only a little micromanage, thats what I would call a fair deal...!

RagTag 13:49, 27 April 2010 (UTC)

Using MaximumTech rules, the light PPC would only get +2.5 points of damage. TacOps, however, clearly states that it adds 5 points regardless of the PPC. One of the many joys that the Draconis Combine brought us! Onisuzume 14:43, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
And the other joys? Missiles that don't hit anything but a mountain and an Atlas-version that fries its pilot alive? ; )RagTag 14:48, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
FYI : It also reappears in the Starterbook : Wolf and Blake. There its certainly indicated the Light PPC gets the full benefit. I would submit that book is the most recent rules publication for it. ClanWolverine101 16:32, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
TacOps says every PPC gets the +5 damage benefit. This excludes the Naval PPC's though.--Mbear 18:24, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
... Naval PPCs scoff at your +5! :P ClanWolverine101 18:29, 27 April 2010 (UTC)
The capacitor takes a turn to charge instead of firing, so your "lighter" PPC can only fire every other turn and still builds heat even when it's not firing. The capacitor is IS tech and basically does what a Clan ER PPC does, just less efficiently, so I would assume the technology would be incompatible. Might actually be a good question for TPTB. --Scaletail 00:14, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Not quite. The PPC can fire every turn. It simply needs to hold its fire a round to build its +5 charge. That's actually practical with many designs, where it doesn't make sense to fire every weapon every round. But yes, its less efficient than the Clan ER PPC. ClanWolverine101 00:31, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
Incorrect: "Instead of firing a PPC as normal, the pilot may choose to charge the PPC Capacitor". -TO, p. 337 --Scaletail 01:01, 28 April 2010 (UTC)
I would understand the rule as follows: You can either fire your lPPC as normal: 5pts damage, 5pts heat. You can charge your capacitor: 5 pts heat, no damage. With a charged capacitor you can release the energy: 5 points of heat, 10pts damage. Or you can hold your fire: 5 pts of heat, no damage. RagTag 10:11, 28 April 2010 (UTC)